Food Plots Fertilizer spreader question.

Jcalder

I'm new to the whole tractor spreader thing. I purchased one from my aunt last fall and have tried to use it, but I've got a lot to learn lol. My question is in the bottom of the drum is a spinner that should help bust clumps and feed things thru. When I planted the other day I noticed a lot of dust coming out of the spreader and some fodder flying around. Is that spinner grinding my seed up? I mixed wheat and oats and some of what I seen floating around looked like the outer part of the wheat seed.

JCDEERMAN

Not sure about that, as I've never mixed my seed with the fertilizer. I will say that when spreading fertilizer, it can get quite dusty.

And as a precaution, when you are done, get a hose a rinse that sucker out good on the inside and the spinner (the whole thing thoroughly). Fertilizer will eat straight through it if not cleaned......just in case you didn't know.

Jcalder

Not sure about that, as I've never mixed my seed with the fertilizer. I will say that when spreading fertilizer, it can get quite dusty.

And as a precaution, when you are done, get a hose a rinse that sucker out good on the inside and the spinner (the whole thing thoroughly). Fertilizer will eat straight through it if not cleaned......just in case you didn't know.
Just to be clear, I didn't use any fertilizer. I just mixed my seeds together

JCDEERMAN

Just to be clear, I didn't use any fertilizer. I just mixed my seeds together
HA I totally botched that then.

You will have some of the seed that is out of it's "seed shell", but that should just be marginal. I've never run into that problem. I'd check the ground and make sure it is just "marginal". I plan on doing the same this weekend with 1300 lbs of seed out of our spreader.

Jcalder

HA I totally botched that then.